Bloomsbury Doctoral Training Centre for the Social Sciences

About the Bloomsbury DTC for the Social Sciences

The Bloomsbury Doctoral Training Centre (DTC) is accredited by the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) and is one of only 21 such centres across the UK. We are the second largest DTC in London, placing the partner institutions in the front rank of social sciences doctoral training in the UK.

The Bloomsbury DTC is a consortium of four institutions based closed to one another in Bloomsbury, central London.

The consortium is led by the
Institute of Education and the partner institutions are:
London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine 
SOAS, University of London

All four institutions are internationally-recognised research-intensive colleges of the University of London and share a commitment to excellence in research and postgraduate research training. Academic areas of study in the Bloomsbury DTC are divided into ten clusters, each of which is led by one of the four institutions.

Click on About the DTC above to learn more about our institutions, structure and management and on Academic Clusters to find out about the social science areas that we cover.